NOTE** Rhyolite Is Occupied**

Steve, Gary & Derek


this building is pictured in many ghost town publications
The John S. Cook Bank Building

Gary & Derek explore the ruins
The remains of the Cook Building

The townsite of Rhyolite was constructed in 1905 near the district's most important mines whose operations began shortly after a gold discovery the year before.  Free lots were offered to merchants in an effort to quickly attract a variety of businesses.  A post office and newspaper were quickly established. By 1906, property values soared into thousands of dollars per lot.  The mining stock exploded in value and railroad service was established.  By 1907, a telephone exchange was built in Rhyolite which now had over 6000 inhabitants.  Soon, Rhyolite boasted three water companies, three ice plants, electric street lights, hotels with private baths, three railroads, four banks, dozens of saloons, an opera house and four newspapers.  When financial panic struck the nation in late 1907, all the high grade ore had been mined.  The remaining low grade veins soon proved unprofitable to work.  All mining finally came to a halt in 1910, leaving only 700 people in Rhyolite.  Vandals and the weather destroyed most of the town between 1920 and 1930.  The expensive depot and famous bottle house remain occupied today by volunteers who protect the town from vandalism.  Free tours are sometimes available for the bottle house and railroad depot.

the storefront and a basement are all that remain
The Porter Brothers' Store

this was the first major building in Rhyolite
Overbury Building

Back To Main Page